top of page

2021 Wrap Up - The Best of the Year

I can't believe 2021 is over! It was another crazy year for me including four

months of furlough, starting a new job, moving house (twice!), finishing my master's degree, and breaking my ankle! That aside, it was also a brilliant year of reading and Bookstagramming :) I didn't want to make this post a mushy, emotional post but...Bookstagram and this blog have helped me so much with my confidence and anxiety, and I feel like, without the friends I've made through both platforms and the escapism in my books, I would have struggled with this chaotic year. So thank you to everyone who has supported my reading in any way.


Now to the books! In 2021 I read 90 books, reviewed 35 books in collaboration with authors/publishers/book tours, gave 5 stars to 31 books, and filled 4 bookcases with books!


For this post, I decided to recap on all of the books I gave a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ rating to, to hopefully give you all something new to explore next year! You can click on the title of the book to see my review on Instagram.


*These books are listed in no particular order*


Dance of Thieves and Vow of Thieves by Mary E. Pearson

- Enemies to lovers trope

- Bad-ass female characters

- Spy living with the family



- Spicy reverse harem

- Enemies to lovers and friends to enemies to lovers trope

- Hidden powers




- Princes of hell and witches

- Enemies to lovers trope

- Spicy NA



- Epic high fantasy

- Multiple POV and multiple plot lines

- Sapphic romance




The Bridge Kingdom and The Traitor Queen by Danielle L. Jensen

- Enemies to lovers trope

- Assassin in the place

- Complex war tactics


Chosen to Fall and Fated to Burn by Emmie Hamilton (gifted)

- Chosen one trope

- Loyal friends

- Full of secrets


- Runaway girls

- Unlikely friendships

- Subtle magic



- Strong friendships and teamwork

- Interesting magic system

- Good mental health representation


- Loosely based on the Cinderella fairytale

- Enemies to lovers/forced marriage

- Full of magic



- Strong underlying messages about mass farming, animal cruelty and the environment

- Beautiful earth magic

- Evil chickens



- Epic high fantasy

- Complex war tactics

- Bad-ass female protagonist




- Mysterious high fae

- Denstined one trope

- Dream walking magic




- Independent female protagonist

- Really unique magic system

- Vampire-like enemies


- Enemies to lovers trope

- Hidden powers

- Stolen bride



- Multiple POV complex plot

- Dystopian moral dilemma theme

- Highly developed technology



- Sleeping beauty retelling

- Creation of a villain story

- Sapphic romance




Covet by Tracy Wolff

- School for supernaturals

- Destined mate trope

- Memory loss


- Interesting magic system

- South Asain and Middle Eastern influence

- Raw topics (rape, prostitution and homophobia)




Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

- Virtual reality

- Misfit friends

- Full of 80s pop culture references



- Enemies to lovers trope

- Secret assassin in the palace

- Dark magic



A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J Maas

- SPICYYYYYY

- Heartbreaking self-growth and beautiful friendships

- Mental illness representation



- Spice

- Enemies to lovers trope

- Betrayal and hidden powers



- Whimsical Queen of Hearts retelling

- Creation of a villain story

- Forbidden romance





For more information on any of these books, please feel free to fill out a form below or message me on Instagram :) I hope you all had an amazing 2021 of reading and I'm so excited to see what books I discover this year.

Screen Shot 2021-08-02 at 07.39.15.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Stay posted for reviews and more!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page