top of page

Sea of Roses by Opal Rayne: Review and Exclusive Interview

In the past few days, I have absolutely devoured Sea of Roses by Opal Rayne 🏴‍☠️ Thank you Opal for sending me this beautiful copy to read and review!


Synopsis


Captain Alister Paine has always had his good eye set on treasure, murder, and sinking ships. His fame as a ruthless, blood-thirsty pirate has spread across the Seven Seas. The Howling Death, his precious warship, is the deadliest ship on the ocean waters, striking fear into the hearts of all those who see it. So when a deceitful yet sensual woman steals his bloody ship from him, he wants nothing but revenge!


AND REVENGE CAN COME IN MANY FORMS...


His anger holds no bounds. He wants to punish her, but there is something about Rosetta Silver that has Alister drowning beneath the waves of his carnal desires. Despite her tricky nature, he foolishly ends up wanting her.


SHE’S LIKE THE SEA, AND LIKE THE UNTAMABLE SEA, HE WANTS TO DOMINATE HER.


However, Rosetta isn’t what she seems, and Alister must decide if his desire for this captivating woman is strong enough to fight against her dark secrets.!


You can read this synopsis and view the book on Goodreads by clicking here!


 

My Review


This book genuinely gripped me from the first few chapters! Here we meet out protagonists Captain Paine and Rosetta Silver and I loved them from the get go! Alister Paine is the perfect morally grey character, to the point where he’s more imperfect than perfect! Sometimes, pirates are written in an unrealistic wayin order to make them likeable characters, however Opal stuck true to the pirate personality. As a result, I despised Alister as much as I loved him! Rosetta is BAD ASS and the way that she is introduced is absolutely genius! ⚔️ We all love a strong female but characters who are smart and strong bring me even more joy! Rosetta really embodies the phrase "pick your battles".


I got really strong Daughter of the Pirate King vibes, but with a big adult twist 😉 boy was this book spicy! Although graphic, the intimate scenes were done in just the right dose and I’d say the book was 70:30 is terms of plot to spice, which for me is great! 🐚 The character’s chemistry made for an exciting chase and the trope of enemies to lovers was taken to a new level! However, Rosetta and Alister’s relationship still has a lot of work before love 😂 I loved the other friendships in the book too! Opal picked very unlikely characters to be beautifully close (although I’m mad at you Opal for breaking my heart at the end! You know exactly what I’m talking about😭😭)


The plot was full of adventure and plot twist after plot twist! There were so many secrets and the reveals were clever! I still don’t quite know the characters motives 😂 how brilliant! The ending was both heart wrenching and frustrating in such a good way, making me relieved that book two “Storms of Paine” came out yesterday! I need to know what happened after the storm 😩


I think this duology is one that I will think about for a while and I really recommend it for that perfect cross between pirate adventure and spicy romance!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️✨ solid 4.5/5 stars and book two is now on my highly anticipated sequels list!


 

Since reading this book I have recommended it non-stop and the lovely Opal joined me to answer a few questions I had- I hope this Q&A entices you into reading the duology!


1. There are some SPICY scenes in this book. Are these ever awkward to write or awkward for people you know to read?

I don't find spicy scenes difficult to write, they are actually my favourite! However, I do find myself feeling awkward when someone I know tells me they've read them - which makes no sense considering I wrote them for people to enjoy! haha


2. Rosetta is fierce and confident even in a world surrounded by men. Why did you choose to create a character like this and do you think it’s important for more authors to emphasise this strength in female characters?

As a reader myself, I feel like there is a line between a badass character and an idiot who doesn't know how not to be stubborn. I wrote Rosetta to be strong, confident, but smart enough to know when to use her wiles to her advantage or just plain understand that she can't best a man. That doesn't mean I don't think some women can't be better or stronger than a man, but that wasn't Rosetta as she was also quite feminine.

I feel like portraying a character like her, who has also been through extensive trauma, needs to be written realistically - and that's what I tried to do.


3. Book one ended on such a huge cliff-hanger and I just need to know what happens! Can you give us a little teaser for book two?

“Naeem!” she yelled when she saw him on the boardwalk. “Help me, my hands are unclean!”

She threw them forward like they were on fire.

Naeem came running over with a look of humour on his face. “Alexander again?”

She nodded, looking down at her trembling, shaking hands. “I-I think I have to remove them.”

“I’ll fetch the axe,” Naeem sighed, walking away to head towards the ship. He shook his head along the way.

Alister knew he wasn’t actually going to, but he did turn to Rosetta with his brow raised.

“You’re a nasty piece of work, you know that lass?”

It was said both with pride and a disgruntled infliction.

“Don’t be too upset that I play the same game with all men to get what I want.” She stepped forward to play with the seam of his doublet coat near the centre of his chest. It seemed she was trying to distract him in the exact same way she had just distracted Alexander. “Just know that you’re the first that’s ever gotten to play with me.”

How Rosetta made her words suggestive and body awakening, he didn’t know. He even had to stifle a groan when she ran her palm over his pectoral muscle and grazed his nipple at the same time.

But she did turn away from him to head towards her ship.

“Now let’s go split our hard-earned coin so we can pay our men and relax.”


4. Alister is the epitome of morally grey but I think he might have a soft side buried deep. Will we get to see this side of him in the series?

Alister cares about one thing, and that's his own interests. So yes, he is quite the morally grey character, but more depth will be brought in about himself, his thoughts, and his past in the second book.


I really think a lot of you readers will enjoy this steamy pirate romance, and I will be posting a review of the second book in the duology in due course.

Screen Shot 2021-08-02 at 07.39.15.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Stay posted for reviews and more!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page