top of page

July Wrap-Up

I know, I know, it's technically August already but I going to post a *slightly* late July Reading Wrap-Up!


July has been an absolutely chaotic shamble of a month! I've moved house, completed and submitted my masters dissertation and applied to my first ever proper job! So, as you can imagine, reading has had to take a bit of a back seat for a while. That said, I read 6 (almost; I technically haven't finished Before Crown and Kingdom) books this month!


I have also become a Book Depository Affiliate, meaning that I am working to help Book Depository to reach out to more customers, whilst I receive a small commission for books sold through my links. Therefore, under each book, I have included my link to the book listed on the Book Depository website! If you're considering purchasing the book, doing so through my link would be a great way to support my blog (and most likely get a great deal on the book and FREE WOLRD-WIDE SHIPPING)




July Statistics


Books Read : 5 and a bit


Pages Read: 1,613


Average Rating: 4.17


Favourtie Book: Earthlings/An Heir comes to Rise





Cranberry Blood by Elizabeth Morgan ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I so wanted to love this book as I haven’t read a vampire/werewolf type book in ages so I was very excited! However I was a little disappointed! In no way did I hate the book but I felt like something was missing 😬

I’ll start with what I liked! The premise of the book is so unique and I really like the story it followed ❤️ vampires+shifters+crazy scientists is

a great combination in my opinion 😂 I also enjoyed the fast pacing of the book which made it a nice easy read ✨I also liked how badass Heather was and liked the independent “I can do it myself” character! I love hated hers and Brendan’s relationships and the slow burn nature of it ⭐️

However, the writing felt a little flat at times and I wasn’t satisfied with the character development. The book also had a little pet peeve of mine…..a characters name was wrong sometimes! I know this isn’t a major issue and not necessarily the authors fault but it just annoys me 😂 The dialogue was also really bland and cringey at times, making the characters sound like moaning children.



A Queen to Come and A World to Lose by Frances Ellen


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This month I received The Aster Trilogy Prequel series from Frances Ellen to review! I have read the first two and I've got to say I'm a big fan of the series so far and I will definitely be reading A Threat to Remain as soon as I can.

This series is based in a fantastical version of our world, where magic exists and a secretive sect of magically touched beings protect humans from the dark and evil underworld kings. Whilst following a familiar fantasy book narrative with horse riding and sword fighting, the series integrates modern technology, making for a fun spin on the expected.

Aside from the world created and the gripping story, I have adored this series so far for the important themes that run throughout. The books are set in countries all over the world, with characters of all different backgrounds. This made the books feel so inclusive and real and I thought it was such a brilliant addition to a fantasy novel. I’d like to highlight the great acknowledgement of character’s trauma in these books too! Too many times characters go through huge events and then carry on like everything’s normal!!!! 😩 not this series! Trauma was addressed with therapy and slow recovery was portrayed really well! I also enjoyed that the characters receiving therapy were some of the strongest in the series- which gave a lovely message of everyone needs help sometimes ❤️






An Heir comes to Rise by C. C. Peñaranda ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

It's been a while since I read a great fae book so I was so hyped when this book arrived gifted by the author!

IT DID NOT DISAPPOINT!

Think Six of Crows, meets ACOTAR, meets Nightmare on Elm Street (bit of an obscure comparison but bear with me).

An Heir comes to Rise takes place in a world where humans live in fear of the dark and powerful fae who rule the land. Even more terrifying than the fae are the Nightwalkers, fae with the ability to enter dreams, used as weapons by the king.

My full review will be posted this weekend, along with an exclusive interview with Chloe. C. Peñaranda so be sure to visit my blog at 19:45 (GMT) on Saturday!




Earthlings by Ray Star

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I don't want to reveal too much about this book as I am partaking in a review tour soon (put the 10th August in your diary so that you don't miss it!) I'll also be posting an exclusive Q&A that I collaborated with Ray Star on!

I will say that this book blew me away and if you are interested in reading fiction with strong messages about global warming and animal cruelty, I highly recommend this book!





Screen Shot 2021-08-02 at 07.39.15.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Stay posted for reviews and more!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page